特別對談

講談社面臨的新挑戰

今年正值創業112周年,講談社開始啟用新的品牌文案設計和商標,並宣布將進一步拓展全球市場。

為什麽是當下?為什麽要走出去?為什麽選擇現在更新企業品牌?公司代表取締役社長野間省伸和支持本公司品牌發展業務的Gretel公司法人代表格雷格·哈恩將通過對談方式,為我們詳解講談社提出的新挑戰。

野間省伸

株式會社講談社代表取締役社長。畢業於慶應義塾大學法學部。曾在三菱銀行(現在的三菱UFJ銀行)工作,2011年出任講談社代表取締役社長。講談社是1909年創業的出版社,開展時事雜誌、女性雜誌、紀實文學、小說、童書、漫畫等涉獵廣泛的出版業務。產品不僅在英語圈、華語圈國家或地區翻譯出版,同時也被翻譯成其他多種語言在世界各地出版,許多內容產品受到世界性熱捧。講談社還積極推動讀書活動,設有野間獎、吉川獎等眾多獎項,旨在表彰為提高出版文化做出貢獻的人才。

Greg Hahn

設在美國紐約的創意工作室Gretel公司的法人代表。自2005年成立該公司以來,為不同行業的客戶研發品牌戰略、視覺身份。Google、MoMA、Citibank、Vanity Fair、New York Magazine等作品獲得眾多獎項,這些作品還在設計、品牌相關的出版物上得到介紹。經常以品牌和企業身份的機製為題進行演講。

大展望、大課題

Greg

和您第一次見面應該是兩年前在布魯克林酒店的咖啡廳對吧?當時我還琢磨,一家老牌的日本出版社社長到紐約來,或許是想請我們幫忙做點什麽。沒想到您一張口,便熱情洋溢地介紹了“講談社下一個十年戰略”。

野間

那天的事我歴歴在目。剛剛和您見面,我就忽然聊起了“下一個十年”,Greg先生想必也很吃驚吧?

2019年是講談社創業110周年。我們大約每10年就會制定新的發展目標。最近10年來,我們把“出版物·內容的數位化”作為首要課題重點推進。現在幾乎所有的講談社產品都實現了數位化。

那麽下一步該做什麽呢?我決定未來10年裡加快講談社在全球的佈局與發展。

當然,講談社一直都有全球市場意識。2005年在中國設立了“講談社(北京)文化有限公司”,2008年在美國設立了“講談社USA Publishing”等現地法人,海外業務得到穩步擴大。僅以《進擊的巨人》為例,這部作品的漫畫、電子書籍累計發行冊數在全世界突破了1億冊。

但是我們不能滿足於現狀。隨著技術和通信手段進一步發展,全世界之間物理距離越來越被壓縮,而日本人口減少趨勢也在加快。我認為處在這樣的變化當中,加快國際發展是必然的選擇。

將講談社的產品進一步推向世界。培養外國的本土創作者。與各國本地的資深企業開展合作——我希望通過這些舉措,能夠構築一個講談社產品全球閱讀,全球創作的網路。這便是我著眼於下一個10年制定的戰略和為實現這一戰略目標所下定的決心。

線上對談。
Greg

當今來自日本的內容產品在全世界受到熱捧。美國舉辦以日本動漫為中心的規模巨大的展覽“AnimeExpo”,有20萬人參加了這一活動。而Netflix等串流媒體平台上,來自日本的作品發布也在增加。最重要的是,我本人就是《AKIRA》等日本動漫作品的超級粉絲(笑)。所以我想,來自日本的內容產品今後必然越來越受到世界的歡迎。

不過,講談社全球性業務佈局與開展的大背景下,一些需要解決的課題也不容忽視啊。

野間

您說得對。這是一個大課題。這些問題不解決我們的設想也就無從推進。

一個典型的例子,我們有許多在全世界暢銷幾百萬、幾千萬冊的講談社產品。例如《FAIRY TAIL 魔導少年》《美少女戰士》《挪威的森林》《窗邊的小荳荳》等,可是其實許多國外讀者並不知道這些是“講談社的作品”。甚至不少人壓根就不知道世界上還有個什麽叫講談社的出版公司。

究竟怎樣做才能讓全世界的人都知道講談社,並且一提到講談社人們都會眼睛發亮地說,“這家出版社出的書真有趣!”呢?這個問題一直困擾著我。

記得就在這個關頭,我接觸到格雷格先生執掌的Gretel公司,並找到了幫助我們攻堅克難的合作搭檔。

Gretel公司2005年創立於紐約,麾下匯聚約30名創作者。曾為Netflix和National Geographic等成功進行品牌設計,受到世界關注。

野間

當初,我曾想過是否找一家日本企業做為合作夥伴來制定世界戰略。但最終我意識到,如果想進一步進軍美國這個全球最大的市場的話,還是應該和美國的團隊進行合作。內容產品的推廣從來沒有什麽“標準答案”。這是一個直覺占比非常大的生意,因此我特別想找一家本土資深的、並且能夠很好理解講談社業務的團隊成為合作夥伴。於是我想到了Gretel公司。你們那裡匯聚了世界頂級的創作者,過去又從事過與我們業務相通的東西。因此我決定請你們出面與我們合作。

提升講談社的世界知名度要從何做起?

Greg

對於Gretel公司來說,能夠為一家資深的日本公司進軍世界服務是我們的光榮。而且這是一個非常具有刺激性的挑戰,所以我也非常願意與貴社合作。

聽了您詳細的說明,我意識到要解決講談社所面臨的課題,首先需要進行的便是講談社的品牌設計。

品牌文案聽起來很難理解,其實關鍵核心就是 “找到一種方法,簡明易懂地告訴人們這是一家什麽樣的公司,它的優勢在哪裏”。講談社在日本大名鼎鼎,日本讀者或用戶聽到這個名字就會聯想到“歴史悠久”“值得信賴”“產品有趣”這些詞彙。同樣道理,品牌文案要做的就是,外國人聽到KODANSHA時先不提具體作品,光是這一品牌就會令人們產生正面印象。

為此要從那裡做起呢?在和野間先生交談的過程中,我們形成了共識:為了讓全世界知道講談社,需要新的“面孔”和“名片”。“面孔”就是企業的理念,“名片”就是企業的商標。

野間

事實上,講談社至今沒有統一的企業標誌。現在要擴大在全球的發展,如果存在著好幾個講談社的logo,就無法推廣統一的品牌認知。所以要搞一個全新的講談社logo。

另外,講談社自創業以來,以“有趣、有益”為關鍵理念做出版,打造內容產品、提供相關服務。這一表述聽起來也許有些抽象,在經營各領域出版物的環節中,通過共享這一本質上富有啟發性的概念,保證了所有出版物和服務的魅力和質量。

應該如何向世界表述這個概念?這一問題又困擾著我。起初覺得直接譯成英語不就成了嗎?可是按字面直譯總覺有些不太合適。看來並非簡單地把日語轉換成英語就萬事大吉。這一點讓我深刻認識到全球戰略的困難和樂趣。

Greg

在不損害“有趣、有益”傳統理念的前提下,創造出新的全球通用的KODANSHA理念和logo。我們花了近一年的時間創造性地致力於這個課題的攻關。

我們要做的並非另起爐灶搞一個新品牌,而是重新發現企業和組織一直以來重視的價值和“重新發現價值和目標”,對其核心進行打磨,進行銳化和固化處理。所謂“重新發現價值和目標”,就是“企業存在於這個社會的理由”。

為此,Gretel公司的創作者們與講談社的職員共計100人進行調研訪談,抽取講談社的本質要素。

野間

我記得這還是新冠疫情之前呢,Gretel公司的人員數次來到講談社調查。這些人工作認真,善於超越語言差異,瞬間抓住本質提出問題,並給我們提出建議。

參與品牌設計的Gretel公司和講談社的相關成員。

在深入了解了講談社的情況之後,Gretel公司的人拿出了很多令我們腦洞大開的提案。我方亦積極回應這些提案。就這樣從頭做起,不斷累積成果,打磨出銳度、純度都很高的東西,這種方法令我倍感驚愕。我真覺得能和你們合作太好了。聽說聊到快天亮的時候,各位饑腸轆轆,好幾次去吃24小時營業的牛肉飯,我真為大家這份工作熱情感動了(笑)。

經過幾次這樣的回合,終於形成了雙方都認可的方案。這個方案就是我們的“重新發現價值和目標”——“Inspire Impossible Stories”以及我們新的logo。

“創造性張力”由此產生

Greg

講談社公司最核心的事業是什麽?是創作與傳播故事。這句話聽上去理所當然,可這卻是非常重要的原點。

基於“有趣、有益”的傳統理念,告訴世界“講談社是什麽樣的公司”“為了什麽而存在”,我們提出,“Inspire Impossible Stories”

野間

聽到Impossible這個詞,有的員工很感錯愕。因為腦海中閃現出的是“不可能”、“做不到”等負面意思。其實,我頭一次聽說時也嚇了一跳。

Greg

歐美用戶在接觸到從未見過的令人感動內容產品時,會脫口而出:“Impossible!”。也就是說,Impossible在這裏是表示“怎麽會有(這樣的故事)”、“好像沒見過(這樣的故事)”的驚歎之意。

KODANSHA是這樣一家企業:它經常在作者與讀者、用戶雙方之間催生新發現與創造性(Inspire),提供出人意表、前所未聞的故事(Stories)。Inspire Impossible Stories就是想表明講談社這樣的決心。

野間

講談社的業務涵蓋漫畫、小說、童書、新聞報導、時尚雜誌等多個領域,回顧過去,講談社在所有領域都為讀者提供了新的故事、新的價值觀以及前所未有的驚喜。Inspire Impossible Stories既表明了我們新的決心,同時也提醒我們不忘事業的初心。

Greg

我想新的商標也提示了講談社的事業原點。

對應KODANSHA的「K」設計出的這個logo,它意味著“誕生各種故事的交匯點”。作者與讀者用戶、有趣與有益、日本和世界,還有傳統和創新都體現在這裏,提示人們KODANSHA就是一處不同事物在此交融的十字路口。

我們常用“創造性張力”這一表述,因為我們認為做出好東西經常需要借助張力。兩個不同的概念,比如說傳統和創新柔和在一起時就會產生張力,實際上這種張力正是做出好作品的驅動力。講談社成為各種各樣的價值觀的交匯點,借助由此產生的張力形成驅動力不斷推出好的作品和內容產品——這就是logo的涵義。

各國設計師參與商標設計。
野間

聽您這番話,我再次意識到“有趣、有益”也是節和了兩個概念呢(笑)。

Greg

正是。logo一共用了10種顏色,是出於呈現多樣性的組織的考慮。

我們的終極目的,就是讓看了logo的人覺得“KODANSHA內容產品一定是值得信賴的”。

當然這還只是開始。現在還處在面向世界市場介紹“KODANSHA是什麽”這樣一個認知的基礎階段,我們剛剛有了這張名片。

野間

正是如此。我們也絕不認為有了商標和“重新發現價值和目標”就萬事大吉。對外來說我們有了名片,對於講談社員工來說,這個商標和“重新發現價值和目標”是奮起應對新挑戰的象徵。每個人都會前所未有地放眼世界,以煥然一新的心情繼續做出好東西來。

Greg

期待有朝一日KODANSHA能成為全球熱捧的出版社及提供內容產品的公司。

野間

為了10年、20年後再回首今日,我能夠有底氣地說2021年是講談社的大轉機,今後我們將不斷推出“有趣、有益、出人意表的故事”,給全世界讀者和用戶送上驚喜。

SPECIAL INTERVIEW

Kodansha’s New Venture

Kodansha, which celebrates its 112th year in business this year, has developed a striking new purpose and logo to further promote its global presence.

Why the overseas market now? And why has the company chosen now to revamp its corporate brand? To learn more about Kodansha's new endeavor, we sat down with the company's president, Yoshinobu Noma, and Greg Hahn, the founder of Gretel, who helped facilitate the company's rebranding.

Yoshinobu Noma

President and Representative Director of Kodansha Ltd. Graduated from the Faculty of Law at Keio University. After working for Mitsubishi Bank, he was appointed President and Representative Director of Kodansha in 2011. Kodansha was founded in 1909 and has a wide range of publishing activities. The company is also passionate about its mission to promote reading, and offers multiple literary awards such as the Noma Prize and the Yoshikawa Prize, which recognize talented authors’ contributions to the betterment of publishing culture.

Greg Hahn

Owner of Gretel, a creative studio in New York City, USA, which he founded in 2005 and has since spent his career developing brand strategies and visual identities for clients in a variety of industries. Their work with Apple, Netflix, Nike, The New York Times, and MoMA, among others, has received numerous awards and has been featured in design and branding publications. Greg also hosts frequent talks on the mechanics of branding and corporate identity.

Big prospects, big challenges.

Greg

We first met two years ago at a hotel café in Brooklyn. When Mr. Noma came to New York, I couldn’t imagine what sort of business the president of such a historical Japanese publisher could have with us, and I was stunned when he spoke so passionately about Kodansha’s strategy for the next ten years.

Noma

I still remember that day vividly. We’d only just met when I suddenly started rambling about the next ten years, so it’s no wonder Greg was surprised, to say the least.

Kodansha celebrated its 110th anniversary in 2019. As a company, we’ve made a practice of setting new goals about every decade, and for the past ten years, we have been promoting the digitization of publications and content as one of our top priorities. Subsequently, almost all of Kodansha's works have now been digitized. As to where we go from here, I’ve decided to double down on Kodansha’s global development and focus on accelerating its growth over the next ten years.

Of course, Kodansha has always been aware of the global market, and we have been steadily expanding our reach overseas with the establishment of subsidiaries such as Kodansha Beijing Culture in China in 2005, and Kodansha USA Publishing in the United States in 2008. As a result, the total number of copies of Attack on Titan comics and e-books sold has surpassed 100 million worldwide, to name just one example.

However, we cannot afford to rest on our laurels. The global community is growing closer and closer thanks to advancements in communication technology. At the same time, Japan's population continues to decline. In the midst of such changes, I thought it was inevitable that we should promote faster international expansion.

To help spread Kodansha's works more widely across the globe, to nurture creators overseas, and to promote alliances with companies based in each country, I hope to build a network for Kodansha's works to be read and created worldwide. That is my plan and my mission for the next ten years.

The interview was conducted online.
Greg

There’s a big demand for Japanese content around the world. Anime Expo, a convention held in the U.S. that focuses on Japanese animation, has become a huge event that attracts over 200,000 people every year. Furthermore, Netflix and other distribution platforms are increasingly offering content from Japan. Above all, I myself am a big fan of Japanese works such as AKIRA, and I feel that Japanese media will only grow in popularity in the years to come.

However, I could see that there were some issues that needed to be addressed in order for Kodansha to keep expanding overseas.

Noma

Yes. Issues so major, something had to be done before we could take another step.

Simply put, there are many works from Kodansha that have sold millions or tens of millions of copies worldwide such as FAIRY TAIL, Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, Norwegian Wood, and Totto-chan: The Little Girl at the Window, but the truth is that most readers overseas do not realize that these are “Kodansha” properties. In fact, many might not even know that Kodansha is a publisher in the first place.

And so, I puzzled over what we could do to make Kodansha a household name. A name that when heard, people immediately think, “Oh, them? I love their content!”

That was then I first got in touch with Greg and his company Gretel, who became our partners in tackling this major issue.

A design company composed of about 30 designers, strategists, and project managers, founded in New York City in 2005. The company has garnered worldwide attention for its work on branding for Netflix and National Geographic.

Noma

Initially, I was thinking of partnering with a Japanese company to develop a global strategy, but then I realized that if we wanted to expand further into the United States, our biggest market, it would be wise to work with an American team. There is no "right" answer for the content we handle. Sensibility is very important in this business, so we wanted to partner with a team that was rooted in the local market and understood what we do. That's why we decided to work with Gretel, a company with some of the world's top designers who have worked on projects similar to our business in the past.

But what is needed to make Kodansha more known?

Greg

We at Gretel were honored to work with a publisher with such a long and rich history, and the prospect of expanding their business on a global scale was an exciting challenge we were all eager to help with.

As I listened to Noma-san speak in detail, I felt that Kodansha needed to rebrand itself in order to solve the issues it was facing.

The term "branding" might sound a bit obtuse but in essence it is a way to communicate a company’s function and appeal in a user-friendly manner. Kodansha is well known in Japan, and when Japanese consumers hear its name, they are likely to think of it as being well-established, trustworthy, and a maker of interesting media. In the same way, we hope that when people hear the name "KODANSHA" overseas, not only will they think of specific titles, but they will also think of a positive image of the company. Branding is essential for building that public image.

So what do we need to do this? Over the course of the discussion we decided that we need to redefine Kodansha’s core purpose, and create an identity that matches the company’s personality. The purpose captures a company’s corporate philosophy, and the identity can be thought of as the ‘business card’—it’s what people see when they first come into contact with the brand.

Noma

The truth is, Kodansha did not have a unified corporate logo until now. In order to further expand our business globally, it would be difficult to gain recognition if there were several Kodansha logos in existence. Therefore, we decided to create a new Kodansha logo from scratch.

Since its establishment, Kodansha has been providing publications, content, and services based on the key concept of “omoshirokute, tame ni naru” (interesting and useful). These words may sound abstract, but in the wide range of publications we handle, sharing this essential and thought-provoking concept has ensured the appeal and quality of all our publications and services.

The question is, how should we express this concept to the world? That was another thing that troubled me. At first, I thought that I could just translate it into English, but when I attempted to do so, it just didn't really fit. Realizing it would take more than just a simple translation, I was once again reminded how challenging yet invigorating creating a global strategy would be.

Greg

We had to create a new, world-class philosophy and logo without compromising Kodansha’s historic image of being "interesting and useful.” We spent nearly a year tinkering with these concepts.

What we are doing is not creating a new brand, but revisiting the company’s core values and purpose that it has traditionally held, refining them, and making them both stronger and sharper. Purpose is the reason why a company exists in a society.

To achieve this, the Gretel team interviewed a total of 100 Kodansha employees to extract the essence of Kodansha.

Noma

This was before the COVID epidemic, but the team at Gretel actually visited Kodansha many times. Despite the language barrier, it was truly impressive how quickly they were able to grasp the essence of our work, asking us countless questions and offering advice.

The Gretel and Kodansha members who were involved in the rebranding project.

With their deep understanding of Kodansha, the members of Gretel threw out a number of inspiring proposals, to which we responded with our own ideas. I was very surprised by their approach of building things up from scratch and creating something both pure and refined. It was really a pleasure to work with them. When I heard that our teams stayed up talking till almost dawn, then went out to eat at the 24-hour beef bowl place together on several occasions, I was moved by their passion (laughs).

After going through this process many times, we came up with something that we both agreed on. And the result is our new logo and the motto "Inspire Impossible Stories," which represents our newly-defined purpose.

A place where “creative tension” is made.

Greg

At its core, Kodansha is a business that produces and disseminates stories. This might seem obvious, but it’s a key part of their identity.

The motto Inspire Impossible Stories was created to convey to the world what Kodansha is and why they exist, pulling from its core tenets of “entertaining and edifying.”

Noma

At first, many of our employees were confused to hear “impossible” in our motto, because it has such a negative connotation. I myself was surprised by the word choice.

Greg

Western consumers often use words like “impossible” or “unbelievable” to describe exciting, never-before-seen content, and that’s precisely the sort of sentiment we wanted to capture with “impossible” in this case.

Kodansha is a company that provides incredible content that moves both authors and readers to create their own tall tales. The purpose “Inspire Impossible Stories” is an expression of that commitment.

Noma

Kodansha is a publisher that covers a wide range of genres, including manga, novels, children's books, journalism and fashion magazines, all of which, in retrospect, have provided readers with new stories, values, and discoveries. We believe that Inspire Impossible Stories is both a new purpose and a reminder of our roots as a company.

Greg

I believe that the new logo also does a great job of representing Kodansha’s roots.

The K making up Kodansha’s logo represents a crossroads where stories of all sorts are conceived. Creator and consumer, entertaining and edifying, Japan and the world, tradition and innovation. Kodansha is a junction where all these things come together.

At Gretel, we often use the term “creative tension,” because we believe that tension is always necessary in order to create something good. When two concepts—tradition and innovation, for example—are mixed together, tension forms, and it is actually this tension that drives us to create something good. Kodansha will be a crossroads of various values, and the driving force created by this tension will be used to create good works and contents. Hence the new logo.

Members from various countries were involved in the logo’s design.
Noma

When I heard that, I realized once again that "interesting and useful" was also a motto that was designed to blend the two concepts together (laughs).

Greg

That's exactly right. We included 10 colors in the new logo because we wanted to highlight the company’s diversity of offerings.

The ultimate goal is for people who see this logo to feel that "this content is trustworthy because it is made by KODANSHA.”

Needless to say, this is just the beginning. At the moment, we are still at the stage of creating a platform to convey "who KODANSHA is" to the global market.

Noma

You are so right. We don’t intend to just make a new logo and purpose then pat ourselves on the back. To the outside world, the logo and motto will act as our business cards, but to the members of Kodansha, they are symbols that will inspire us to take on new challenges. Each and every one of us is more conscious of the world than ever before, and we are determined to continue to make excellent products.

Greg

I look forward to the day when people around the world hear “KODANSHA,” they think quality content.

Noma

When we look back in 10 or 20 years, hope we’ll be able to say with pride that 2021 was a major turning point for Kodansha, and we will continue to provide the world with interesting, informative, and impossible stories to delight readers and users around the world.